Norwich Philharmonic Orchestra – Rachmaninov Symphony no. 2

Norwich Lanes

Norwich Philharmonic Orchestra

Matthew Andrews Conductor
Prokofiev        Pushkin Waltzes
Martin             Symphonie Concertante
Rachmaninov Symphony No 2

The Norwich Phil’s February concert conducted by Matthew Andrews opens with Prokofiev’s rarely-heard Pushkin Waltzes, and, in celebration of Rachmaninov’s 150th anniversary, culminates in the composer’s Symphony No. 2. This monumental orchestral tour de force was a triumphant hit at its premiere, restoring Rachmaninov’s confidence in his abilities after the poor reception of his First Symphony, and has gone on to become one of his most popular and enduring works.

Completing the programme is Martin’s sparkling Symphonie Concertante, inspired by his admiration for Bach and the Second Viennese School, which brought the Swiss composer to international acclaim.

To tie in with the launch of the Norwich Science Festival, concert ticket holders are welcome to a free pre-concert talk on The Acoustics of Musical Instruments, given by Andy Thompson from Adrian James Acoustics. The talk will take place in the Crypt at The Halls from 6:30pm and will last for 30mins. Maximum 50 people.

Concert tickets £19, £18, £13 (£8 for students/Under 26’s)