Without doubt Elm Hill is the most famous street in Norwich. It is also the most complete medieval street in the city. A major fire destroyed almost everything in 1507 but the properties were rebuilt and now we can enjoy a beautiful cobbled street with merchant’s houses, thatching, individual homes, specialty shops and small cafes.
Elm Hill is a photographers dream; whatever the season it retains its character and beauty. In summer, wander around browsing shops such as The Bear Shop, a quaint little place specialising in bears and collectables. In autumn, wonder at the rich colours of the falling leaves. In winter it is so Christmassy and charming, and in Spring, new life starts to form making Elm Hill bright and vibrant.
Explore craft shops, antiques and galleries, visit tea shops, coffee houses and delis. The history behind this street is intriguing, take your own tour of the area using an Elm Hill Norwich Trail map (buy them from the Norwich TIC or selected shops in the Cathedral Quarter). One of the most well known buildings is The Britons Arms, the only survivor of the 1507 fire. The building is early Tudor, formally an inn and very much in demand as a film location. Since the 50’s it has been a family run coffee house and serves the most delicious homemade food – a trip to Elm Hill is not complete without a stop here!